How much study on piano is necessary before studying organ?
  • Blaise
    Hello, I'm interested in playing the organ, but the last time I've played piano was several years ago (before 9th grade). How many years of piano study are necessary before one starts playing the pipe organ?
  • francis
    theoretically, none... but the piano WILL strengthen your hands and perhaps give you an agility you would not have otherwise. (unless you are practicing on a tracker with heavy action)

I studied piano from ages 5-18 and then switched to the organ... wished I had studied organ from the start, but the priority of studying the organ was not cultivated in early years (in general), perhaps because it is was more difficult to get practice time in a church. Now with the advent of MIDI, home organs are becoming a reality.

Get your feet moving now... Don't loose a moment!!!
  • Blaise
    Thanks, Francis.....

I'm trying to make a budget first for a MIDI keyboard, then eventually for Hauptwerks virtual organ software and then a pedal board.
  • CharlesW
    I had a year or two of piano before starting organ at the age of 15. When I was in college, I had to take another year of piano. To this day, I have no special ability on piano. Others say I play well enough, but I can tell the difference readily when I hear a real pianist play. So it is possible to play organ without much piano. As long as you read music, you can learn organ. Just find a good teacher.
  • From a pianists perspective:
    In my area, the AGO offers scholarships to students for summer organ lessons. Back when I applied for these, the requirement for the audition CD was that the pieces be at least at the difficulty level of Bach inventions or Clementi sonatinas.