Christmas polyphony
  • Kathy
    I'm looking for something nice for my choir for Christmas.

Did Tallis or Byrd write anything like a Christmas cycle of songs, esp. in English? In other words, was there oratorio in the Renaissance?
  • Simon
    I'm not an expert but oratorio didn't come into vogue until the 1700s. The 1600s saw opera come into its own. Don't think you'll find an animal called a Renaissance oratorio. Renaissance composers stuck to motets and masses for sacred pieces.
  • Kathy
    Thanks, Simon.

Just curious, though, if there were groups of motets written to be sung together, or sequentially at a season of Masses. Something like that.
  • For things sung 'sequentially at a season' it sounds as though the Gradualia of Wllm. Byrd could be what you are looking for. The Gradualia is a setting of the propers polyphonically for the liturgical year. There are similar collections by others.
  • Kathy
    Sounds good, thanks!
  • JamJam
    I was briefly in a choir for a Low Mass during Advent the year before last. These songs aren't grouped together like what you're asking for, but the polyphony we sang was:

Veritas Mea by George Malcolm (my personal favorite)
    Ave Verum Corpus by Giacomo Carissimi
    Veni Veni Emmanuel arranged by Jason Phillips
    Dixit Maria by Hans Leo Hassler
    Ave Maria by Tomas Luis de Victoria
    Magnificat Sexti Toni by Orlando di Lasso

then of course we did Advent chants like Creator Alme Siderum and En Clara Vox Redarguit.

I thought it was pretty top-notch stuff. You might like one or two of them. I dunno.

EDIT: missed that you were asking for stuff in English. That I do not have.
  • How about O Magnum Mysterium, or any of these: Ye Sacred Muses, Tribulationes civitatum, Vigilate by Byrd?
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4VoKso5ERI&feature=player_embedded#

Can your choir handle Palestrina?
  • Erik P
    Any of the Byrd settings of the gradual are nice, here are some for Christmas: