Canadian setting of the Gloria chant - need for an accompaniment
  • Greetings: I’m an amateur organist at a small parish in Canada who is learning the accompaniments for the ICEL chant settings posted on the musicasacra website, including those composed by site members. I'm hoping that the chant settings will become part of our parish’s musical repertoire.
    As you may have heard, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) chose a setting for the Gloria different than the ICEL setting and there is no accompaniment for this that I am aware of. The composer of this setting is “Anonymous”. I have been experimenting on my own but I am not a composer, and I'm wondering if any musicasacra members would like a challenge that would benefit the church in Canada, and write an accompaniment for our Gloria chant. I am not well connected with other parishes or musicians, so I thought I would ask. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

I can upload a pdf of the Canadian Gloria if anyone is interested; the CCCB told me today that I can share copies with other musicians/composers as long as these are not sold.
    Sincerely,
    Mark
  • You don't need to do a different Gloria. You may use the ICEL Gloria. I'm also in Canada. When it comes to music and the liturgy, the CCCB is not a great strength or authority
    on the subject. Be glad that we have other options when it comes to Mass settings.
    All the best.
    Peter
  • Mark, can you post link to pdf of Canadian chant Glory?
    In meanwhile
  • I'd also be interested in a setting for the Canadian ICEL Gloria.
  • Thanks for your replies everyone. Here is the copy of the Canadian ICEL Gloria.
  • Well, I have a question. Why give a key signature of two sharps, and then make all the C's natural? Especially if there is no accompaniment. Are we afraid of modal key signatures?
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen