New Translation Exsultet
  • Joel K.
    Hi, everybody. I've been on the forum often but only just signed up because I have a question I was wondering about. I've just been recruited to sing the Exsultet this year for Easter vigil at my parish, something I've never done before. I was wondering if it might be acceptable to sing the new ICEL Exsultet from the forthcoming translation; does anyone know if that would somehow be against the rules?

Also, I really wish (if I do sing the new Exsultet) that I could have a square note copy rather than the round notes they used for the setting. Although I don't just want to come out and ask if anyone here could do that for me because I know it's a very big task to type out the whole Exsultet.

Thanks!
  • eft94530eft94530
    somehow be against the rules?

Obviously.
    Use of the new translation becomes effective Advent-1
    (earliest use would be Vigil Mass offered on Sat eve Nov 26, 2011).

Search for the purple heading "Conclusion" ...
    http://www.usccb.org/liturgy/innews/1102.shtml
  • Joel K.
    I apologize for how I may have come across; let me explain myself.

After reading this past discussion on the Exsultet (http://musicasacra.com/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=1651&page=1) I saw that there was mention of using the St. Meinrad setting for the Exsultet, which apperently does not conform completely with the text in the missal. For example, the words about "fashioned from the work of bees" is added. Since no one seemed to raise an objection to that difference in text, I simply wondered if it would be so different to use the new translation of the Exsultet this year already.

However, I don't want to presume anything or overstep any bounds, so if I shouldn't use it then I definitely won't.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    You could try it in Latin. It's the new black.
  • Cantate