Looking for Advent Chant Recordings
  • After a fruitless search, I was hoping that perhaps anyone can suggest some good recordings of Advent chants? I found these two albums, and the listings are what I'm looking for -- 4 weeks of Introits at least, Creator alme siderum, etc. The first cd has a nice selection, but in previewing I found the sound nice, but not really Solesmes interpretation? I’m no expert, but there were too many artificial pauses to suit me.

The second one only shows a listing of 3 weeks of Advent, but a really nice selection, but I couldn’t find a preview anywhere.

GREGORIAN CHANTS (Advent) (CantArte Regensburg, Velten)
    http://www.naxos.com/catalogue/item.asp?item_code=C10593

GREGORIAN CHANTS : The Lord Is Near - Chants of Advent (Der Herr Ist Nahe)
    Schola of the Benedictine Abbey, Gerleve
    Musical Direction : P. Gottfried Meier OSB
    http://classical.premieremusic.net/catalog/cd/NCA60106215/

I’m not up-to-date in the technological world, so I have no .mp3 player. I am hoping just for a cd. I’m always on the lookout for cds that can be played in the background, to familiarize my family with the chant, but I want it well-done. And I really wish there were more recordings of just Advent chant and hymns, and just Lent chant and hymns.

Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks so much!
  • Chant Gregorien et Polyphonie a l’Abbaye du Bec-Hellouin, Abbey of Bec-Hellouin, CD, EMI Stereo CDC 7497612 PM 518

The first Sunday of Advent complete, Vespers of Advent, the Alma Redemptoris Mater, and selections from the Dedication of a Church, Holy Thursday, Easter, and Pentecost. Double monastic choir of monks and nuns! Stunning!

Gregorian Chant for the Church Year: Advent / Veni Domine, Schola of the Hofburgkapelle of Vienna, directed by Fr. Hubert Dopf, S.J., CD, Philips, CD 446 087-2