How can I get parishoners to join a schola?
  • ruthr
    I am a retired music teacher, and a Catholic convert, trying to start a chant schola in a large church in the outer suburban Chicago area. I am not the church music director. With permission from the pastor, we have a group of 4 women (we have also had men and other women but they have had to come and go) focused on Gregorian Chant and other sacred music. We sing at a holy hour once a month. Our tiny group is enthusiastic and we have done a big push to let the parishoners know that we exist. We are called the St. Gregory Choir and have lovely brochures that include quotes from church teachings and assures them that they need not read music or have a big range. The normal mass music selected by the music director is taken from the Breaking Bread missals published by OCP.

This effort has been going on for almost 7 months, and I am feeling discouraged about the lack of interest. How can I get more singers? Should I go outside the church to the community? Or pay some teenagers? Thanks for any ideas.
  • bhcordovabhcordova
    Does information about the schola and your contact information appear in the bulletin weekly? How often do you make an announcement at Mass describing the schola and inviting members to join (letting them know when and where?)
  • ruthr
    Thanks, yes those are 2 things I am pursuing. Appreciate the reminder.
  • TCJ
    I have tried many methods. Advertisement worked initially when there was no choir at all. After that, advertising for people to sing for the Christmas season only pulled in two people who ended up staying in the choir when invited. That gimmick only worked once! Beyond that, personal interaction has worked the best. I tell me choir to listen when they are in the pews and invite people or invite people they know.