Music for Easter Vigil and Easter Sunday
  • Good morning,

I’m a music director at Immaculate Heart of Mary Church in Brooklyn NY. I’m new to this site and this is my first post. I have a few questions about planning music for Easter Sunday. I’ve been doing this for 2 years but I don’t seem to happy with the lineup that I chose last year.

1. Do you reuse the same hymns from the Easter Vigil for Easter Sunday, or do you choose different hymns for both liturgies.

2. Does Jesus Christ Is Risen Today work better as the entrance hymn or the recessional on Easter Sunday?
    Thanked by 1chonak
  • Liam
    Welcome here! To get better specific answers to your questions, is your parish reliant on a given hymnal or other worship aid resource for programming and, if so, what? The reason the answer to the question is relevant is because it may limit what you can program.
  • Hi Liam,

My parish uses the Breaking Bread hymnal from OCP. We don’t use worships aids or anything like that.

Hope this helps

- Connor
  • To give you a couple quick answers to your questions:

1. The past couple years I have done the same hymns between the two.

2. I like it as the recessional, but I know of people who do it for entrance too.

3. At the Lambs High Feast is my go to for communion during the Easter season.
  • MarkB
    The only song at Easter Vigil that I use again on Easter Sunday is "Jesus Christ Is Risen Today": it's the recessional for the Vigil but the entrance on Easter Sunday. Well, the song during the sprinkling rite is also repeated.

I have used "Ye Sons and Daughters" as a Communion song on Easter Sunday, but this year I'm placing it at the offertory and will sing "Take and Eat" (Joncas) for Communion instead.

Due to the larger number of people at Mass on Easter Sunday than usual, the Communion song has to be something that will last a long time; it should have many verses. Or have a second Communion song ready to use.
    Thanked by 2Liam LauraKaz