"O Magnum Mysterium" on the Organ Without Breaking my Hand?
  • I did another voice-to-organ transcription, this time of Victoria's "O Magnum Mysterium", which I intend to use at Midnight Mass (not sure when, but probably at Communion). My only issue is, my hands are on the small side and some of the intervals are well nigh impossible and the fingering is tricky. I'm not sure how to judiciously re-write or leave out notes because I feel like they're all important, and I don't have a lot of time to figure things out, 1. because I'm playing it in 23 days and 2. I'm a nursing student with three exams this week and limited practice time. Any help is welcome! (I can't get the file to upload right now, so if anyone has general advice for this sort of thing, please share!)
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    Richard Chonak can probably figure out the uploading problem, but check this thread in the "For Newcomers: Read First" category.

The first big stretch I notice in Victoria is left pinkie-index 6th at m. 35; you'll also have to decide how picky to be with the discovered 5ths at m. 29.
  • You could always use the pedals (couple the manuals through with no stops).
  • GerardH
    I can't get the file to upload right now, so if anyone has general advice for this sort of thing, please share!

I think there is an issue with files that have spaces in the filename. Try removing spaces or replacing them with another character.
    Thanked by 1youngcatholicgirl
  • CharlesW
    I would go for the "pedals" suggestion with the manuals coupled. Pick up the lowest notes there and split the remaining notes between two hands. Redundant notes, leave out.
  • The file still won't upload. I'm not sure if the fact that it's .mcz (MuseScore) has anything to do with it; maybe it's just too big.
    Could someone please explain "couple the manual with no stops"? I'm afraid I don't understand many technical terms for the organ.
  • ryandryand
    Export the file as PDF and then upload.