Use of Agni Parthene in Roman Catholic parish?
  • BGP
    It’s a very popular 19th century E Orthodox devotional hymn
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WkqZbFQb0O0

I’m rather taken with it, but how appropriate is it in the context of an RCC parish? (As a choral piece)
  • igneusigneus
    Depends on occasion.

But personally I hate Byzantine stuff sung in RC settings. Regardless of the occasion.
  • canadashcanadash
    Igneus... why? curious.
    Thanked by 1sergeantedward
  • igneusigneus
    I love both Agni parthene specifically (as a student I knew the Greek original almost by heart and prepared a translation to my mother tongue) and the Byzantine tradition in general. But pieces "stolen" there just don't fit in the Roman framework. The language, style, imagination, traditional forms - everything sounds very strange when put in direct contrast with the Roman liturgy.

(I am aware of the few Byzantine pieces included in the Roman Breviary and now in the LOTH. And they illustrate my point quite well - actually I first learned about them by stumbling upon an antiphon like "hey, this sounds very much like a Byzantine troparion!")
  • Chaswjd
    There is nothing in the rubrics which would forbid it. And since it is vastly superior to much which has been published since 1970 or thereabouts . . . .

Perhaps it could be used as example of the church breathing with both her lungs.
  • igneusigneus
    Perhaps it could be used as example of the church breathing with both her lungs.

Better to say "as an example of one lung breathing despite of being patched by pieces from the other".
    Thanked by 1M. Jackson Osborn
  • This might work at Dom Beaudin's monastery. Average Latin parish . . . not quite.

I mean, it's the same with Gospel music. Sung by black choirs? Awesome. Sung by a couple old biddies in multi-colored blouses hogging the microphone? Hail no.