Chant and modern notation: fonts, programs, and software
  • chonakchonak
    If anyone would like to try out gregorio without installing it locally, send me an e-mail ( .....at yahoo.com ), and I can give you remote access to a linux machine where it's installed.

I'm assuming you will be connecting from a linux or other Unix-like system using ssh.

(This offer is subject to cancellation whenever I want to use the machine for some other purpose.)
  • zapman
    How many people here use MacOS X? I started a program to typeset chant using Cocoa, and I occasionally even get to work on it. (My day job is pretty intensive.) However, perhaps something to inspire me to find more time to work on it would be seeing a decent amount of interest.
  • TBL
    zapman -- I can't speak for anyone else, but I'm on a Mac, and I'd be interested in your program! I'm currently using Gregorio, which is good, but a native Cocoa app would be great. I'd be interested to hear more about its intended features. If you could use a collaborator or even just someone to test, you can contact me by email (listed in my profile here -- I'll be out of town for a few days so I apologize if I can't reply right away). I've only been programming in Cocoa for a short while (picked up a Macbook earlier this year), but I do have a longer background in C/C++/Python and some weekend free time...

For anyone interested, here's a copy of some notes I typed up on Gregorio, including a walkthrough on how to create a chant score starting from .gabc notation and ending with the final pdf (which is why it's a little long; sorry). Some parts are missing/could be hashed out in more detail but I hope its enough to get started.
  • Norgz
    Hello,