Compatibility between US and UK Liturgical Resources
  • Hello,

I am in an effort to restore sacred music to the liturgy in my local parish in the United Kingdom. Frankly, the music at the moment in my parish is lacking at best, and immature and embarrassing at worst. The Musica Sacra resources I have looked through seem to be exactly what I am looking for. Nothing of the sort exists in the Liturgy Office of England and Wales, the organisation that is supposed to be responsible for handling the music for the sacred liturgy.

My question pertains to compatibility. I am new to this topic, so I was wondering if there are any variances between the mass propers and psalms of the liturgy between the United States and the United Kingdom. Essentially, will I be able to use the resources found on Musica Sacra, for instance, the Simple English Propers, the Gregorian Missal and the Parish Book of Chant (CMAA), for liturgy in the United Kingdom?

Thank you for any assistance.
    God Bless You.
  • a_f_hawkins
    In England&Wales the authorised psalms are still the Grail Psalms dated 1963, as the Missal says. In the USA I understand they have authorised an updated version - the Abbey Psalms. But the existing US resources use older updates, variously called Revised Grail, or whatever.
    My impression is that the antiphons are the same translations across the English speaking world, but I have not fully verified that, I have found no differences so far.
    For the Liturgy of the Hours/Divine Office: these are quite different.
    See the entry at the bottom of this page for the official and semi-official antiphons.
    Thanked by 1Paul F. Ford
  • Thank you for your reply. Looking at this coming Sunday, my Missal which uses the Grail Psalms says this: "You open wide your hand, O Lord, you grant our desires".
    However, the Parish Book of Psalms, a great resource says this: "The hand of the Lord feeds us, he answers all our needs."
    I'm guessing that this will not work.