How to launch the Campion Missal/Hymnal for congregational use?
  • JulieCollJulieColl
    Our pastor at St. Josaphat's in Bayside announced the wonderful news yesterday that he has ordered 200 copies of the St. Edmund Campion Missal/Hymnal for the EF celebrations at our parish. It's a much-needed dramatic improvement over the handout I've been making for the last 8 years which consumes a large amount of time and paper. As Father said, the Missal will add dignity to our liturgy and will be a treasured resource (and an answer to prayer! I really didn't know how I was going to keep up with the handouts since we are now doing TLM's on holy days and various feast days during the week.)

Not sure when our missals will arrive, but it does seem very providential that they will most likely arrive in Advent, which ought to make navigating them easier for newbies. I am wondering, though, if anyone on the forum has experience with the Campion Missal/Hymnal and how to implement it with a congregation?

Specific questions:

1) We have a number board, but how can we use it most effectively since we'll need to post entrance and recessional hymn numbers, the Mass setting and the Credo?

2) Would it be better to post the page and hymn numbers for the Missal in the bulletin ?

3) Any suggestions on how to help the congregation use the Missal?

I'm also reaching out to Jeff Ostrowski for suggestions and ideas, but I thought it would be useful to get input from the experienced parish music managers here. Thank you for any suggestions and advice you may have.
    Thanked by 1StimsonInRehab
  • We've got the Campion. We use the same hymn as rec/pro, so the relatively small hymn selection works for us (and Breaking Bread is in the pews if we really need more).