Best Program for Modern Notation Chant?
  • Can anyone recommend a good program for publishing chant in modern "stemmed" notation, i.e. eighth and quarter notes with episemata/tenuto marks as needed and cue-sized notes to indicate liquescence? I've tried Finale and Sibelius and found both to be extraordinarily tedious for getting unmetered music to look decent on the page for anything longer than a single line. I would prefer to avoid any sort of program or font that requires manual alignment of each syllable. I have very little experience with LilyPond and would appreciate any advice as to whether it might be useful for chant or other unmetered music.
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    There was a discussion about stemless notation with Finale vs. Sibelius some time ago. In it, I posted how it can be done rather easily, together with a "worksheet" PDF illustrating just how it was done for my setting of 'The morning star is on the rise' ... the relevant forum page is (the worksheet is fairly far down the thread):

https://forum.musicasacra.com/forum/discussion/12198/the-great-debate-finale-vs.-sibelius/p1

This approach really does remove the tedium of separately counting notes for each "measure" and setting a time signature for each ... my trick is to start with all 1 beat (1/4) measures (hidden time signature, of course), combine measures as necessary for "neumes" or melismas, using invisible barlines and altered default spacing before and after "music" in each measure (these are all set at the beginning, or even incorporated into a stemless chant notation Finale template). Feel free to contact me for more information or help.
  • MarkB
    You might try Noteflight.com. It's a web and cloud based music notation application. Mouse interface is pretty intuitive to use, but when you learn keyboard shortcuts that speeds the notating process quite a lot.