Ictus missing in credos?
  • Hugh
    Any Solesmes expert:

Graduale Rom p. 770 Credo 1 "Qui ex Patre Filioque procedit". Is there an vertical episema missing at the "li" of "Filioque"? Also at the corresponding syllables in Credos 2 (GR p. 773) 4 (p. 778) & 5 (p. 781) ? Same situation in the LU.

Or perhaps I've misunderstood the 2/3 measure rules?

Glad for any advice.
  • I'm no expert, but they don't mark all ictus locations... only when there might be a question or when they want to have it grouped in a particular way. You are right -- there is an understood ictus at the 'li' of 'filioque'. They marked the ictus on the qui and again on the 'tre' to let us know the first grouping is a grouping of three, but the rest of the phrase is understood to be all groupings of two (if I am reading it correctly). It looks like a very nice example of off-accent ictus marking to me.
  • Hugh
    Thanks Janet - that makes sense.

HH
  • miacoyne
    Janet , you are really doing your HW on ictus. Scott should be very proud. ;-)
    I've gotten a bit lazy on ictus, so I spent yesterday afternoon marking all the ictus we need for our schola. (and also mark Arsis and Thesis.)
  • You should see my PBC with all the markings since Chant Intensive... ictus markings, circled groups of three, "S" for salicus "L" for unmarked liquescent neumes and a. and t. for each arsis and thesis... I am sure my book would be very confusing for anyone other than me.
  • miacoyne
    What's this one, where? ""L" for unmarked liquescent neumes"

(Do you want to sell your book? Of course with markings ;-)
  • See the Sanctus VIII in the PBC... Apparently, the Meinrad font has no capability for liquescent climacus neumes on 1) 3rd "Sanctus" on 1st line... 2) 1st "excelsis" on bottom line of page 53, and 3) last "excelsis" -- last word of chant p. 54. Compare with your Graduale Romanum on page 740... you can see the difference.