1974 Graduale now online for free as PDF
  • jczarn
    http://www.ccwatershed.org/blog/2014/feb/17/1974-graduale-romanum-now-online/

Wow, can't believe this finally happened. I was under the impression that it probably wouldn't ever be available online per this discussion: http://forum.musicasacra.com/forum/discussion/6083/graduale-online/p1

I didn't realize that the 1974 Graduale was literally a (rearranged) photocopy of the 1908 edition. Some interesting legal/copyright justifications on page 2 of the PDF download.

• Forgive the question, but I'm a newbie to EF: what is the difference between the GR and Liber Usualis? Every time I hear someone mention using the GR for something. I realize the exact same can be found in the Liber Usualis.
  • The GR only has mass propers.
  • BenBen
    The GR is great if you just want the Mass. It's much smaller than the liber.
  • Thank you, guys! So, I'm ok with my Liber and I don't need another book, yes?
  • Also, the 1974, posted above, is the postconciliar calendar and propers. The Liber isn't.
  • BenBen
    If you are doing the EF, this book won't do you much good anyways. This is the OF's gradual. Used like the liber, but at the OF.

If you had a 1962 graduale romanum, that would be everything you needed for Mass. Or you can just use the liber you have, it also has everything you need for Mass, and some things you don't. :)
    Thanked by 1Andrew Motyka
  • The GR (for the EF) has larger print than the Liber, and it stays open better, which is why I prefer it. I think they weigh about the same.
  • chonakchonak
    There's also the Liber Brevior, which is in the style of the Liber Usualis (i.e., smallish scores), but omits the readings and most of the Office material, so it's more compact than the Graduale.
  • BenBen