Liturgy of the Hours - Latin and Music
  • sunkid77
    Hello,

Where can I purchase the music for all chants (in Latin) for the post-Vatican II Liturgy of the Hours--including the 4-week psalter? I cannot stand the dreadful current ICEL translation and the hideous English therein, and so I'm ditching English for the Office. As a layman, I have been doing the pre-Vatican II secular Office (weekly psalter) in Latin. However, this puts me out of sync with the current lectionary and sanctoral of the Church. I know that Solesmes publishes numerous chant works; however, most of this material is for the monastic office, which entails a weekly psalter--and is not the Liturgy of the Hours in use in secular circles.

Does anyone know where I might find such music?

Thanks,
    -Stephen Gagnon
  • chonakchonak
    It hasn't been published yet!

IIRC, Solesmes has published only one book for the non-monastic office: "Antiphonale Romanum II", which contains the music for Sunday Vespers. I suppose the Liber Hymnarius might be useful too.

• igneusigneus
    The complete official Roman post-Vatican-II antiphonal isnt't ready yet.

So you have these options:
    * official, but far from complete http://www.solesmes.com/GB/editions/livres.php?cmY9MTMx
    * unofficial, but complete http://www.ctestmartin.fr/index.php/fr/publications/les-heures-gregoriennes.html
    * unofficial, but strictly following the rules (Ordo cantus officii), free, possibly going to be complete (not soon, though) http://www.transitofvenus.nl/LiturgiaHorarum/
  • sunkid77
    Thank you all for the information. The links are very helpful. The French Les Heures Gregoriennes looks very intriguing since it's a complete version of the current Liturgy of the Hours in Latin with Gregorian notation (I already have the AR from Solesmes). I'm going ahead and ordering this set.
    Igneus, do you know if the Lectionary of Les Heures Gregoriennes is pretty much our own Lectionary in the English speaking world?