Weekday Chant Propers
  • I am looking for a nice, simple English setting of the Propers for Tuesday of the 3rd week of Lent. I am a music teacher at a Catholic school, and our bishop - a strong supporter of chant and Adam Bartlett's Simple English Propers - is coming to celebrate Mass that day. We will have a jr high choir singing who have little musical experience, but could easily learn to chant some simple Propers well!

My initial thought was to simply use the SEPs from Sunday of the 3rd Week of Lent... is that acceptable, or would it be more technically correct to chant the actual Propers for the day?

Thank you!
  • If there is no feast day/memorial, then it would be customary to use the propers from the previous Sunday.
  • BenBen
    please pm me
  • BenBen
    Here's the introit and offertory proper to the day (every day of lent uses different propers):

Ego clamávi, SEP p. 323
    Sicut in holocáusto, SEP p. 238
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • Thanks! I had found the text for the correct propers for the day, but completely forgot that I could find the SEP settings of the introit and offertory because they came from another Sunday! This is why I like these forums... :)
  • SkirpRSkirpR
    Adam Schwend

What you say is true for most seasons, but in Lent all weekdays actually have their own Propers.
  • ryandryand
    SkirpR,

I believe that all weekdays have their own propers, no matter which season.

A liturgically-minded priest told me last year that it is always permissible to use the previous Sunday's propers during the week, because the weekdays are still within the octave.

Does this not apply to Lent?
  • rogue63
    Can your choir sustain vertical harmonies? I'm kinda partial to choral propers, and I really like Richard Rice's Simple Choral Gradual. Ditto on the permission to sing propers from the previous Sunday through the whole week---I do it every Thursday at my school Mass with my 3-5th grade choirs.
    Thanked by 1Pax
  • BenBen