Adapting psalm tones for the vernacular
  • urli
    Hello all,

I'm working on setting the Dutch translations of the Mass propers for this coming weekend to psalm tones. Just something very simple as I'm not an expert. Whilst thinking about this and "playing around" I've come across a couple of articles about "adapting" psalm tones for English texts. Does anyone know of any ideas or principles that hold in general, for other vernaculars?

Apologies if this is too vague: like I said, I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to this type of thing, although I've been "involved" in music in church for years.

Many thanks in advance for any tips and suggestions you could offer.
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    Hi, urli.

You need to speak to Bruce Ford about this. And SACRED MUSIC should consider publishing his article on this. (in my opinion, at least)

Also, rather than try to explain a bunch of "principles," you might also want to have a look at Chabanel Psalms, if you have not already, and see what others are doing. Just a thought.

In Christ,

JMO
  • urli
    Dear Jeff,

I'm reading (for about the third time :)) Dr. Ford's article on adapting the psalm tones for English (the exact title escapes me, but it as "theoretical considerations and practical tips" in it somewhere. It's very informative - the big challenge is to work something up for Dutch. Is that the article you're referring to?

My main obstacle (thinking longer term) is that I'm less familiar with Dutch stress patterns than those of English, even though I speak and sing both every day. Will have to get my thinking cap on and start fiddling around.

It would be wonderful to have something similar to Fr. Kelly's work in Dutch! There's a Solesmes house in this country which obviously has Latin, but I don't think any other monastic houses in the Netherlands uses the Gradual.
  • You might also consider the Simple English Psalm Tones, which are almost complete.

Here's an EXAMPLE, for the coming Sunday.