Classical Homeschool Curriculum- writing the Music portion
  • irwinsong
    Dear Friends,

I am a musician myself, classical voice being my first love, though I am also a pianist, a songwriter, and play french horn and a few other instruments.
    I am a Catholic homeschool mother, and we have been using the classical model of education for my children's curriculum for the past several years.

I am trying to put together a Vocal program for the classical curriculum I am doing with my children and other families, and in short- I want to do a basic singing foundation with the kids, and base it on beginning chant.

I am also looking at methods, such as the Ward or Kodaly methods to help with the vocal technique training. Though I would love to attend conferences/workshops, currently that's not a feasible option, as several of my children are very young and this is not the 'season' in my life which would allow for me to do that, unfortunately. So, thus I do what I can!! :) I have been a music director at several parishes over the years, (we have moved about 5 times in the past 8 years, thus the 'several' part!) However, I have done nothing in the realm of chant/sacred music, which is all I hunger for now! Now, I am blessed to be able to focus on homeschooling. :)

More details about our program-
    I am specifically looking to prepare something for 2 different age levels-
    K-3 and 4-6
    (We do also have the need for 7-9 and 10-12, as well, though I wanted to start and focus on the younger ones first).