Introduction and seeking advice on Responsoral Psalm
  • Glory to Jesus Christ!

Hello, my name is Daniel Malneritch. (Saint Joseph of Cupertino is my patron saint and is the reason for my username here.) I graduated from Franciscan University in the Summer of 2011 where I studied Theology and multimedia. I hold a commercial pilot license and am working towards a certified flight instructor license. I'm from Georgia and have moved back home where I am a volunteer musician at my parish. Here I've been able to use on occasion resources such as SEPs and the Parish Book of Chant. I have also recently been hired at a nearby parish as an assistant music director. This will be an interesting environment to work in as the pastor wants virtually the same music at each of the Masses. So I can make suggestions but don't have the ultimate authority in musical selections for Mass.

This brings me to my question. Rather than using an approved (as per GIRM §61) option for the Responsorial Psalm, this parish uses a song instead. The pastor is "open" to the idea of me working with them on finding an appropriate Psalm (although he may request something different from time to time). What I need then is a psalm setting that a contemporary "band" would feel comfortable playing. This band (don't shoot me ;) ) involves guitars, keyboard, bass, violin, and yes drums. There are other things too that need to be addressed musically at the parish, but one thing at a time...

Any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

Thanks! God bless,
    Daniel
  • First of all, welcome to the forum!

You might want to gently tell the pastor that the use of a "song", in lieu of the approved options for the Responsorial Psalm is a reprobated practice as indicated by the GIRM and Redemptionis Sacramentum. You don't need a band for the responsorial psalm. This can be done acapella. I do this at my father's parish. The Chabanel psalms certainly lend themselves to that.
  • GavinGavin