British Columbia, Canada, Sacred Music Scene?
  • JonDeulingJonDeuling
    Question: I'm from British Columbia, Canada, and want to consider whether or not God is calling me to be involved in progressing in the study, practice, performance of sacred music. What do y'all suggest? I'm an ear trained musician with the bare minimum of theory behind me, however, I've a heart full of inspiration for these wonderful old forms of great music. I'd love to make some friends of Sacred Music involvement, too, if you're in BC or close by! Thanks

Jon
  • PMulholland
    I'm in BC, will send you a message. Western Canada is a bit of a liturgical wasteland... very lukewarm and minimalist with little tradition to clutch (not long ago we were still mission territory)
    However, there is plenty of potential and the more the merrier!

Peter
  • rjgrigaitisrjgrigaitis
    I'm from Alberta and more or less agree with Peter. However, I've heard many good things about Westminster Abbey in Mission, B.C. I'll eventually make a retreat there one year. Check out this website:
    http://www.westminsterabbey.ca/chants.html
  • JonDeulingJonDeuling
    Hi, and thanks for your notes; it's my first time using this thing, and I love it. I attended that Abbey, in fact, and I can attest that it has an excellent Mass, but no studies in sacred music. I live in the Okanagan, and am thinking of moving down to the coast because I believe there is potential. Heard of the Royal School of Church Music in BC? I'm trying to learn more, but only see it on the web.
  • matthewjmatthewj

My first advice to any Canadian seeking to "do" Church Music full-time is to get the heck out of Canada. If you're extremely talented (even if its just visible potential) you should try to find a Catholic parish here in the United States to hire you, get an R-1 Visa and get over here. Parishes will pay for that sacred music education here in the US if you're already far enough to be able to be a full-time DM at a parish.