Motivating a choir
  • tdwee
    Greetings.

I have just been given a task take charge of our parish's choir (consisting of 7 different groups), and as the different choirs are at different footing, i thought that i would be good to begin by providing a basic input of the importance of the role of a choir member. i wish to also provide some encouragement and motivate the members at the same time to really love their roles and to give their all.

As this is my first time dealing with choirs, i don't really have much materials to start with. I am wondering if anyone could help and point me to some good source on this matter, in particular the topics below:

- the role of a church choir.
    -the role of a choir member.
    -the dilemma of balancing one's musical talents and singing in a choir
    -quotable quotes on the importance of choir in liturgy
    -motivational lines for choir

thanks a lot. any help is highly appreciated.

Terence
  • incantuincantu
    Last summer I read a book Lois and Fred Bock called "Creating Four-Part Harmony." The title refers to four areas that a church musician must achieve balance for a successful choir program. It's an easy read and has a lot of helpful suggestions in those areas.
  • - the role of a church choir.

I would say the choir’s role is primarily to enhance the liturgy by singing music whose complexity or lack of repetition makes it unsuitable for the entire congregation. So, there is a legitimate tradition, for example, of giving the entrance, offertory, and/or communion songs/chants to the choir. Additionally, the choir can sing in alternation with the congregation--again, ideally, with the choir singing music that the congregation would not feasibly be able to sing well.

-the role of a choir member.

To be in the choir? Not sure what the issue is here....

-the dilemma of balancing one's musical talents and singing in a choir

Do you mean the soloist-versus-ensemble thing?