Chant website
  • mjcurtis
    Hi all. I am currently working on a project to have the complete Mass Proper for the Church year recorded along with a bunch of Ordinaries. I am designing a website as well so everything will be available to download. It will include everything from the newest edition of the Gregorian Missal and the new Communios book that is out. This amounts to probably around 600-700 chants well over 100 hours! I am about halfway done already in 3 weeks. I want the site to be a tool for those who may struggle with chant notation, which I'm sure are many. I have a couple questions for anyone out there:

1) I am a starving college student and sacrificed a summer of work for this project. I don't want to make money and become rich from this project, but would like to be somewhat reimbursed for equipment/time/website/etc. Do you think there would be interest and demand out there? Also, what is a price that most would be willing to pay. I want to have one set price for access to everything. I could also charge for each chant, but that is probably less appealing and more difficult to create!

2) My interpretation of the chant is pretty good. How important and certain is it that one should lengthen the 2nd note of the salicus with the vertical episema? I know this is controversial. I am singing everything solo, so breath is an issue. It is very difficult to sing some phrases and sing through some of the quarter and half bars where applicable. Therefore, I sing the chant with quicker flow than many would.

Thanks for your help! I hope to have everything recorded in about a month. It will then take a couple months to edit everything. I also have to design the website. I hope to have it up by 2009. It will be at www.chanttracks.com

Matthew Curtis
  • Jan
    There are some Belgium monks who have produced a set of 17 CDS with all the Mass propers for the year. So it already exists. Don't know the monastery or the price.
  • mjcurtis