Help a Chant N00B! Want to compose – where do I start?
  • Looking for a charity case? That'd be me...

I'm a secular composer interested in composing chant. Specifically, looking for help in the arrangement and structure of chant.

Yes, I have Googled. But, there are so many resources out there it's overwhelming and I'd like to avoid any spurious documents. Hoping a veteran here could offer some suggestions.

Ideally, I'd like to find 1-3 books to begin this journey.

Thanks in advance and God Bless!
  • Susan Treacy's "A Plain and Easy Introduction to Gregorian Chant," might be helpful it getting some of the basics; http://www.canticanova.com/catalog/products/book_intro_to_chant.htm I'm sure there are others.
    Thanked by 1catholicservant
  • @yellowroseoftexas - Thanks! That's exactly what I was looking for. :)

Just ordered a copy. Wish they had an electronic version though.
  • Also check out the Musica Sacra "Books to buy" tab - this looks like it might be helpful: http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/gregorian-chant-a-guide/13007266?productTrackingContext=author_spotlight_855567_
  • Immerse your ears and soul in lots of recordings, as well :¬)
  • IanWIanW
    What Aristotle said.

It's like learning to harmonise Bach chorales: a while lot easier if you sing and/or play them with some frequency.
  • If you are really serious you might consider a journey to St Meinrad's Archabbey in Indiana to study chant structure, form and notation with Fr Columba Kelly, who is one of the world's greatest scholars of chant. You will not be disappointed. If you wish to give me your e-mail, I will send you the Bibliography that we use for our courses at St Basil's School of Gregorian Chant here in Houston. Too, there are certain chant theory and method books that one would want to avoid.
  • Hey folks...thanks for the suggestions!