hymnal for school Masses
  • I'm new to a position which requires me to play for the weekly school Mass. Relations between the parish and school are somewhat cool, and the hymnal the kids have been using is terrible. The principal just asked for recommendations as to a new hymnal, and I though I should jump at the opportunity to improve the quality of music at these liturgies and to improve the parish/school relationship as well. Does anyone have hymnal recommendations? Has anyone created a booklet of their own perhaps? Thanks for the help.
  • Mike R
    A booklet of your own is nice, but I've found that the idea can expand very quickly and get out of hand, especially when it's for a weekday Mass. I constantly find myself wishing I had thought to include something relatively obscure for a feast day when it falls on our Wednesday night Mass (tonight, for example, I'm wishing I had included "By All Your Saints Still Striving" with an apostles verse or something).

Assuming that the school folks will expect a variety of music, I'd take a good look at Worship IV. It seems to me perfect for this sort of situation - mostly traditional hymnody, but people in power who are opposed to that will not freak out like they would on a hymnal that doesn't include "Be Not Afraid." If they are more open to traditional worship than the typical Catholic school, look at the St. Michael Hymnal. I don't see the Vatican II Hymnal as a great resource in this circumstance, since its big selling point is that it includes the Sunday Mass readings and propers, and this is for a school, and therefore I assume almost exclusively for weekday Masses.

I would suggest Liturgical Press's "Sacred Song" three-year paperback hymnal, but LP still has not made audio files available of any of its new Mass settings except the Psallite Mass. Not that you have to use the settings in the hymnal.