Is Google Translate slowing down the CMAA forum?
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    Friends,

I have very little knowledge of computers, databases, etc.

HOWEVER, I believe that this forum has been running "slow" ever since Google Translate was added.

Am I wrong?

If so, perhaps it might be worth considering getting rid of ??
  • matthewjmatthewj
    I notice that the forum is moving VERY slowly.

I figured it was because of huge amounts of traffic due to having celebrities like David Haas and Jeffrey Tucker on the forum...
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    it has been slowing down. It's likely due to increased traffic.
    It might be time to take up a collection so the admins can invest in fatter pipes.

In the mean time:
    It would help things if everyone used "open in new tab" (right click, first option in most browsers) when opening discussions. Then, just close that tab when you're done with the thread and open the next thread WITHOUT reloading the main index page.

This will save countless page reloads on the main index. It will save everyone who does it a few seconds, and corporately, it will save quite a number of HTTP calls, which will speed up everything else.
    Thanked by 1eft94530
  • Removed. How is it now?
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    Unless I'm crazy, it is A LOT FASTER.
  • CharlesW
    It's kind of slow on this end. Maybe it's on the old calendar? LOL. However, it is truly slow.
  • matthewjmatthewj
    I think it's moving just as slow.

I think Ostrowski just hates Google Translate, perhaps because he had the idea before Google (he couldn't work on it because he was too busy studying the Editio Vaticana).
  • Yeah, still slow. hmmmm.
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    Perhaps there are just too many conversations?

Can older ones be archived?

(hope I'm not showing my ignorance...)
  • chonakchonak
    This sort of slowdown can happen when a web page has graphics or other elements coming from another web server.