Please explain quote from John Paul II's Chirograph on Sacred Music
  • I'm writing a letter to my pastor in which I hope to convince him to allow the use of Mass XII, which will replace the Haugen Mass of Creation. I'm planning to quote from Sancrosanctum Concilium and the Chirograph on Sacred Music.

Since I'm a novice regarding these things, I would like for someone to please explain the last sentence of this quote:

6. The music and song requested by the liturgical reform - it is right to stress this point - must comply with the legitimate demands of adaptation and inculturation. It is clear, however, that any innovation in this sensitive matter must respect specific criteria such as the search for musical expressions which respond to the necessary involvement of the entire assembly in the celebration and which, at the same time, avoid any concessions to frivolity or superficiality. Likewise, on the whole, those elitist forms of "inculturation" which introduce into the Liturgy ancient or contemporary compositions of possible artistic value, but that indulge in a language that is incomprehensible to the majority, should be avoided.

Could one not argue that since Gregorian Chant and Latin is incomprehensible to the majority, it should be avoided?
  • Kathy
    I would have to leave the discussion of the document to others, but I think your question raises another question: what does it mean to say that something is "incomprehensible?" Gregorian chant may be unfamiliar, but that does not mean it is incomprehensible. It may be in a different language, but everyone knows what is meant by the words at that part of the Mass, and a simple worship aid could translate each word. The tunes are easily grasped by very small children, so the music is not incomprehensible.