chant without a choir
  • I have been perusing MusicaSacra forums for a little while now and am enjoying the vast amounts of information and opinions here, but I've been unable to find the answer to the problem that is bothering me the most right now: singing propers when there is no choir.

I work as a cantor at a small Catholic church. It is a particularly conservative church in a particularly liberal diocese. We sing the ordinary in Latin, but we do the "Four-Hymn Sandwich" where all the propers would be (i.e., processional, offertory, communion, recessional). I would love to introduce some of the propers - either in Gregorian or in English - especially at communion, where I struggle every week for appropriate repertoire. I have found an extraordinary number of forgotten Ave Marias to sing (my priest says I must dig in the catacombs to come up with this rep) but what really frustrates me is that I am struggling to find solos and pick hymns out of that Worship hymnal when a whole repertoire of stuff for communion is already composed and just sitting there in the Gregorian Missal. However, it is just me and the organist, and I have always understood Gregorian chant to be a choral thing. Would it be wrong for me to sing some of the propers as a soloist?
  • JamJam
    "either in Gregorian or in English"

sorry, but I love this phrasing. Gregorian is a language, now! <3<br />
    I'm no expert, but I don't think there's anything wrong with singing propers by yourself. In fact, I've been in a few churches which had certain propers sung by only a cantor. The organ might overpower a single voice though, so accapella might work better?

Others will come after me with more concrete advice I'm sure. God bless your endeavors!
  • DougS
    I see a simple solution: