"Irish" hymn tunes and the harp
  • mjballoumjballou
    I'm looking for more "Irish" religious/hymn tunes than the usual suspects (Slane, St. Columba). And yes, it's a "vespers" for a Protestant church. (Remember I'm a freelance musician.)

Any suggestions from the bright minds on this forum will be gratefully received.
  • I was thinking I had a collection that might yield something for you, but couldn't find the book I wanted. I did find a book called "The Roche Collection of Traditional Irish Music" in my bookcase, but it is all instrumental melodies for Irish dancing, etc. [airs, hornpipes, jigs, reels, quadrilles, etc.]. It may still be of interest to you... I could bring it with me to the colloquium in the summer and you could have a look at it. I was thinking about dusting off my violin and trying my hand at them again... the names are really fun... ex. "The Pretty Maid Milking Her Cow". I originally bought it thinking I'd teach myself to play the tinwhistle... (heh).

If I find the other book and find any likely pieces, I'll let you know.
  • mjballoumjballou
    Oh, I've god irish tunes up one side and down the other. It's the "religious" side I'm working on. Then I found "Mary of Graces" in my Pius X hymnal. A lovely tune to play.
  • What about the various tunes associated with the hymn/text 'Saint Patrick's Breastplate'?
    Would various Celtic things count? Slane? Bunessan?
    Check out the website for Anuna for ideas.
  • G
    DOHMNACH TRIONOIDE? (I think that's the right spelling)

(Save the Liturgy, Save the World)
  • mjballoumjballou
    Many thanks, y'all.
  • Maureen
    I realize it's a little late for the original poster's need, but here's some info.