Fee recommendation
  • I’m glad this forum exists and I’ve enjoyed reading the comments. Looking for some advice.

I’m an organist in the northeast USA who’s classically trained. I’ve been playing in Catholic and Protestant churches for 25 years but do not have music degrees. My instruction was private lessons with professional church organists who also happened to teach at local conservatories. My vocal training has been largely by participating in choirs over the years and accompanying countless rehearsals.

I’ve been asked to both play and sing for a standard NO Catholic Mass on Sundays. It’s not an arrangement I’m used to, as I typically have done one or the other. What would a reasonable fee be to ask? I realize I’m taking a shot in the dark here but I’m not sure where else to ask. The AGO did away with salary recommendations which didn’t help. Thanks for any advice.
  • MarkB
    At least $200 per Mass, but you'll probably be lucky to get that.

With inflation the way it's going, I'd say $250 per Mass starting in 2024.
  • Thanks, Mark B. The parish originally floated the rate of $175 which seemed a little low to me. If it helps the discussion here, I would be committing to a 90 minute commute round trip.
  • francis
    figure ALL of the time it takes to prepare, practice, and perform and show an itemized invoice... it's going to be approx. $300 and up. Include travel time and mileage.
    Thanked by 1Diapason84
  • MarkB