Two steps forward, three steps back...
  • I am the music teacher at a Catholic school attached to a very "Spirit of Vatican II" parish. With the support of my principal, I am trying to build a school music program based on authentically Catholic liturgical music. Over the course of this year, I have been slowly reducing the number of "contemporary" OCP songs used at school Masses and shifting more towards 18th/19th-century English hymnody. (I don't these people could handle the Propers for quite a while yet.) This parish has an evening Sunday Mass featuring guitars and electronic drums, and even the Sunday Masses with "traditional" music never use the organ, only the piano.

Earlier this year I started playing a few of the hymns for school Masses on the organ instead of the piano, and now I am using it much more often. The kids LOVE it when I play hymns on the organ and constantly ask me questions about it. They have begged me to play only the organ for Mass (which will never happen because the Ordinary I am required to use by the parish does not work on organ at all). Some of them have even expressed frustration when I told them we were going to sing Gift of Finest Wheat yet again and asked me why we don't ever get to sing Gregorian chant.

However, some things happening on the parish side are leaving me very frustrated right now. Occasionally, on Holy Days of Obligation, I have to collaborate with the parish music director on the music my students will sing for Mass that day. For All Saints and Immaculate Conception, she sent me a tentative list of songs and asked me if I had any input. However, for Ash Wednesday, she just sent me the final list, and it is a complete step backwards from what we have done so far this year. Here is what my students will be singing for Ash Wednesday this year:

Entrance: O Breathe on Me, O Breath of God (a fine tune, we've done it before)
    Offertory: Beyond the Days, There Is a Longing