Sacred Music in Jacksonville, FL
  • JDE
    Does anyone know whether there is a Schola at Immaculate Conception in Jacksonville, FL? I'm going to be there over the weekend of 23-24 February, this is the church closest to the hotel, and they offer the Extraordinary Form at 0800. I'm so there, of course, but would like to help with the chanting if they need me.

For political reasons I have to remain anonymous, but if you want proof of my bona fides, I was in attendance at the recent workshop in Auburn. I have a Master's in music from a large southern university -- thank God for that, because I would know nothing about the Tridentine Mass if I hadn't learned it in music school. I sing, I play, I conduct, I even compose -- but I don't advertise the existing compositions because they are too "pianorific" to be used in church.

Any help anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Yurodivi
  • I was there about a year ago and there was a small choir singing hymns. Could have changed by now. There is a website for the Latin Mass Society at http://www.latinmassjax.org/
  • JDE
    Thanks! I've E-mailed them to see if they would like me to join them for the day. I'll report on the experience after the fact.
  • Too bad you won't be a little farther south, say around March 30. My schola is doing Low Sunday Mass in Jensen Beach (about 3.5 hours south of Jax).
  • G
    What time is the 3/30 Mass at which your schola will sing?
  • The EF is offered at 3:00 at St. Martin de Porres in Jensen Beach. Love to see you there!
  • G
    No, I'm living very far away, and ya know, Easter tide is my busy time at work (snark)

In all seriousness, I have family in the area, and one member is really suffering from the liturgies and music at parishes in the area.
    You know the drill, he loves music so much that he searches out Masses with no music.

(Save the Liturgy, Save the World)