Double Memorial Acclamation?
  • I have fallen into being the Sunday morning coordinator for my parish, and of course I’m still learning things. The priest who will be our primary celebrant for a while ran into me in the street and I finally got a chance to talk about what he would like. He was a little bothered because the mass setting that we use, a contemporary one that actually has some very pretty elements in it, has a repeated Memorial Acclamation. To be honest, I’m not sure I’ve encountered one in the other settings I have heard.

I learned a new word – –anamnesis—from the GIRM but I see no instruction about its form. I am not at home so don’t have my altar missal, if it says anything.

Does anyone know if there is a rule about the Memorial acclamation – – that it should just be said one time?

But then there’s the overriding rule, which is that we do whatever Fr wants, So I asked the music ministry to chop it in half. It’s just a repeated melody, although a very pretty one, and so it should be easily done.

Thanks. Kenneth
  • MarkB
    You won't find a rubric prohibiting repeating the Mystery of Faith, just as you won't find one prohibiting repeating the Lord's Prayer. Shouldn't have to be stated.

Some composers of Mass ordinaries don't respect the ritual purpose of the text. Repeating an acclamation is an example.
  • That’s my general take, although it’s a hard point to argue if others aren’t liturgically well formed. Good point about the Our Father. However, “Father would like…” is a highly effective argument and I used it here.

The setting of the Ordinary was approved before either of us showed up. I’ve already told the music people to just chop it in half.

Kenneth
    Thanked by 2ServiamScores tomjaw
  • a_f_hawkins
    Such common sense never inhibited composers of polyphonic settings.
    Thanked by 2hilluminar GerardH
  • smvanroodesmvanroode