Good Friday Prelude-What would you do?
  • SMire
    Looking for feedback/thoughts on a prelude for Good Friday.

I'm new to the parish I currently work at (7 months on the job), so this is my first Holy Week with the congregation and let's just say they're pretty far from traditional...I've made some progress already with introducing them to a few "new things," but these transitions take time and I must pepper in chant and other things of beauty with the pieces that the congregation/choir are already accustomed to so as to soften the blow, so to speak.

This congregation is also unbelievably chatty before, during and after Mass. I worry that, after observing how they are on a regular basis, that the incessant chatter might detract from the task at hand. I'm considering having my organist play something very low before we begin the procession in silence, but I worry that this really isn't proper...what would you recommend in my position?

TIA
  • Tia,

No, it isn't proper, but neither is chatting before, during or after Mass -- at least while in the Church building. There's much that needs to be corrected in your parish, by the sound of it, but doing another wrong thing won't help them to see the error of their ways.
    From their perspective, I think you'll discover, an end to the chatter would be an end to the "task at hand", as you put it. They have no sense (yet) of terribilis est locus iste.

Organists playing on Good Friday.... a bad idea, regardless of how common it might be.

On the other hand, you could ask a reliable gentleman of the parish to lead (say) a rosary or a chaplet or Stations before the liturgy, which could help. You could ask your pastor to post signs at the entrances to the church, clearly urging silent reflection. This same pastor could preach throughout what remains of Lent on the value of silence.

Thanked by 2SMire RedPop4
  • SMire