Three Latin Christmas Motets
  • Please allow me to introduce myself, as I am new to his forum. Being a relatively new composer/arranger who's passion is enhancing liturgical worship, I have listened with great interest to many of the wonderful new compositions posted here. I am hoping to learn from, and develop relationships with, other traditional/liturgical composers/arrangers. I don't have recordings of most material because I just started during the COVID lockdowns. Therefore, most of my audio samples come from computer generated instruments and voices. This one is an exception. Although my son and I live 4000 miles apart, we were able to collaborate to create an audio of these Three Latin Christmas Motets for TTBB (a format not typical of my work, unfortunately). Most of my material is hymn settings, simple SA(T)B choir anthems and various arrangements for organ, organ and brass, and string quartet.
  • Welcome to the comment side of the forum. Thank you for the contribution of Three Latin Christmas Motets. (Contributing thusly isn't a requirement, by the way.)

You name two of the motets by their incipits. Is there a reason you didn't do that for the third?

Thanked by 1Marek66
  • Beautiful! Well done, and hope you keep writing. Thank you for sending these in!

(I am unsure about some of your spelling/enharmonic choices, but not sure if I have better suggestions)
  • Your setting of Hodie Christus est Natus is wonderful! (They all are, and thank you for posting recordings of real voices!)
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    Beautiful indeed, and the note spelling seems logical enough to me. I had to be reminded myself quite recently that "prophesy" and "prophecy" are spelt differently, though ;-)
    Thanked by 1CCooze