• I'm a professional musician and currently in the middle of a huge problem with my position as an unpaid Music Director at my parish. The priest would pay me if he could, but this is a small parish and I've seen the financials - there's just no money. And now that my daughter is almost two she demands every moment of my attention; there simply isn't time to do the work anymore. I'm falling dreadfully behind, and I finally told the pastor I am going to have to transition to a seasonal music schedule (same songs every week for several weeks). The organist, a dedicated woman and good at her job, didn't like that, so she volunteered to do the planning herself - which we're certainly going to try. BUT I still have to review the selections, I don't get to determine what schedule she does it on so I don't know if I'll have time to review it before it goes live, and it also means I'm still training the cantors weekly. It has its own set of problems.

My husband has spent months trying to give me reliable time to do my work, but his job is the one that pays the bills and is demanding at unpredictable times. We don't have any local family, so for his next attempt he wants to bring in a couple of friends to volunteer to watch the baby for an hour or two a week each, plus some nice girls from our parish whom we'll pay. This is also frustrating to me; now, in addition to donating my more than thirty years of experience in music and well into the six figures I've spent on my education, I'm also being expected to pay out of pocket for this job I have the "privilege" of doing for free! I'm also being challenged as prideful, arrogant, greedy, and ungrateful for the opportunity to give back to God what he has given me. Meanwhile, I keep looking at "The laborer is worth his hire" and wondering why teenaged babysitters who haven't invested anything in their skills are worth something and I am not.