Index of Responsorial Psalm Responses
  • Most, or probably all, collections of responsorial psalms have only the psalms for Sundays and prominent holy days. But since many of the psalm responses are reused for weekdays, it would be very helpful for someone like me, making music for First Friday masses, to have an index in which I could look up the text of the psalm response and find ---> the liturgical date(s) for which it is used. Then I could use the liturgical date to dive into something like Chabanel psalms and find what I want. Otherwise it seems I have to compose my own responses, which I've been doing for a few months, but I would rather not if it's not necessary.

So, does anyone know of any such index, preferably available online or for free?

If there is no such index already existing, I'm probably going to make one, and please advise me as to what might be the best means of sharing this.

By the way, this is for the Ordinary Form of the mass as it is done in the U.S.A., in English. (And as some of you have said a few times, isn't it a pity that all we English-speaking countries and regions don't use the same texts?)
  • CGM
    There's not a index of psalm responses, but there is an index of psalm citations, for daily Masses organized by liturgical season, here.
  • CGM, I assume you are referring to one of the tables accessible from that page, such as this one, but working from that would involve more labor than what I am already contemplating.

However, the page you referenced also reminds me of the Common Responsorial Psalms and Gospel Acclamations, which could be an option for us.

Thanks.
  • MarkB
    Michel Guimont's collection of responsorial psalms (published by GIA) has such an index. I've attached it, but it only points you to page numbers. However, I also attached the table of contents: you can look there for the page number given in the index and see on which Sunday or major liturgical feast that psalm response is assigned.