• wolffwolff
    I found this forum and thought I'd join, I have to run back to work, but I'm an organ builder for 23 years and have my own pipe organ in my residence built around a 1930 Moller I removed from a church on Long Island in 1996 and added to.
    I have a recent new interest in church music from Slovakia and Hungary after seeing some youtube videos done in churches there, I bought the two main hymn books from book stores in those countries as they were impossible to find in the states.
    The one from Slovakia is bbreviated JKS and the other is SzVU. I have never heard any of the music in either book before, it's all new to me!
    Here is one of my videos from the JKS book;

Video
  • wolffwolff
    The 1936 Slovak book I mentioned earlier- "JKS" is: "Jednotny Katholicky Spevnik" (translated roughly to English it is the "Uniform Catholic songbook" ) by Spolok Vojtecha, 565 pages.
    There was a pew version and an organist version and the organist version was difficult to find searching foreign web results, but once I found the ISBN number it helped a lot.

Titles with; "SZVU" are out of the Hungarian book (Szent vagy, urami!) English: "You are holy!"
    ISBN# 963-360-361-7 Harmat Artur and Sik Sandor, Budapest
    Purchased used from Antikvarius books in Hungary

Titles with "EE" in them are from the book Eneklo Egyhaz, purchased new from a bookstore in Budapest Hungary Oct/2020 for about 76 Euros.

Titles with "SKS" are from the 1918 book "Slovensky Kalvinsky Spevnik" I was not able to find a paper copy but archive.org surprisingly has a scan of the whole book;
    https://archive.org/details/slovenskykalvi00slov/page/n6/mode/1up

So I have found 4 books and the music within that are probably almost virtually unknown in the states.
    From the "JKS" book, 1936 is this very pretty old world frontispiece drawing;
    589 x 825 - 174K
    Thanked by 1M. Jackson Osborn
  • davido
    Very interesting!