From a newbie (an ex-Anglican and budding hymnodist)
  • Grace and peace to everyone here. My name is Anna; I am a writer and ESL teacher who was received into the Catholic Church from Anglicanism at Easter 2019. I'm grateful for this site; there is a lot that I do not understand about the Catholic musical landscape and the resources here are helping.

Among other things, I write hymn texts in English set to tunes in the public domain and have had the privilege of hearing several used in worship. My top priority is to render such texts as theologically sound, singable, and beautiful as possible. I know that the role of such hymns in Catholic liturgy is different, or ought to be different, from their role in Anglican liturgy. Unfortunately for me, I've got the hymnody bug now and it does not show signs of going away anytime soon. Hymn texts, I've found, have a particular look to them, a characteristic patina, when they're really and truly finished; for me there is no greater joy than seeing this in my own work and in that of others.

Any thoughts would be most welcome. I am very happy to be Catholic.
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen Kathy