Learning to tune piano
  • For those of you that can tune a piano, I'm curious: how did you learn to do it? How long does it take to learn? And is it the kind of thing best learned in person, or would an online course be effective too?
    (Not contemplating a career change -- yet! -- but I think this would be a useful thing to add to my skillset).
  • I learned how to tune my piano by reading some manuals I found on Google Books and watching videos on the subject on YouTube. Of course, I'm not a professional at that, but I can keep my piano acceptably in tune all the time.
  • francis
    time to learn - years to do it well, with much practice.

in person definitely best... i learned from a blind tuner... can't beat a blind tuner

the most difficult part is not the theory, it is that no two pianos tune the same and are of vastly different quality to do so... there are false beats, overtones and inconsistencies in scale, fighting harmonics with fundamentals... its a forest of wolves that you are constantly fighting against to keep the focus and get the thing into tune (with itself). less expensive pianos with smaller harps are the most difficult to tune... (wurlitzer, kohler and campbell, yong chang, etc.) Pin blocks are a whole nother problem... some are springy, some are dry (loose), some are tight (swelled), and setting the pin with the right amount of torque in each direction is the 'art' of tuning a piano so the string stays where you put it.

setting a temperment is the most difficult of the theoretical part of tuning, as you have to work your fourths and fifths to be slightly large and slightly small and the ascending thirds to beat gradually faster... learn on a large grand or an upright... they have the purest string tone and you hear better what you are doing.

you can pm me if you have other questions.

• @francis: my piano is a Wurlitzer. ;-)
  • francis
    @Juan Andres