How do you encourage people to attend Sunday Vespers?
  • Our parish has both the EF and OF, with EF being primary. We have been doing Sunday EF Vespers for some time but it has always been difficult to get people to come along and then keep them coming. Originally it was Vespers chanted without organ, but recently we found an organist to accompany the chant and Vespers finishes with Benediction now. There are about six of us who chant from the sanctuary, two cantors alternate with everyone else singing the other verse. The laity are encouraged to join in with the singing.

What are ways you have found to encourage people to attend Vespers and Benediction? Then secondly, how do you keep people coming back?

We put out Vespers booklets from Gregorian-chant-hymns but I am thinking new typeset booklets with the English and Latin might be easier for people to read and follow. If you have already done the work please let me know! I have no experience with the chant writing software. I am hoping the addition of Benediction will help. I have also thought of giving some instruction about how to pray the psalms before hand. Any other tips or advice would be much appreciated!

Thanked by 1tomjaw
  • Philip,

Welcome to the comment side of the forum.

Albert Bloomfield has a large cache of these Vespers materials. There are many ways to get in touch with him, but the easiest is

https://asbloomf.github.io/

I have a small suggestion: invite specific people. They will invite other people.
  • GerardH
    Perhaps those with experience in Anglican or Ordinariate usages could enlighten us on how they attract congregations to Evensong? I too am interested in what advice forum-members could give.
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • Gerard,