Solo chant during the pandemic... anyone taking advantage of the situation?
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I think people know that I am extremely pro-congregational singing, but also very pro-chanted-propers, and that I think finding a way to balance these seemingly-mutually-exclusive goods is one of the most important challenges of Catholic musicians.

All that preface aside:

As churches reopen under orders to avoid or severely limit congregational or even choral singing, now seems like the opportune time to introduce/expand the chanting of the propers.

Is anyone taking advantage of this situation? Are you doing the Latin chants of the Gradual? O vernacular settings? What has your experience been? Has people's receptivity to it changed?
    Thanked by 1Gustavo Zayas
  • MarkB
    On Easter and Pentecost I chanted the sequences in English to the traditional chant melodies. I'm new in the parish, and before the suspension of public worship I had planned for the choir to sing metered settings of the sequences because that's what they had always done before my arrival. But in the absence of choirs I used the opportunity to chant the sequences myself a cappella. Easter was a video Mass and Pentecost had social-distancing public worship with cantor and accompanist.

People really liked the chant. Three stayed after the Pentecost Mass to say how much they enjoyed the prayerfulness of the chant. Nobody that I heard about disliked it.

I've also begun chanting the Communion antiphon with one psalm verse before starting the Communion song. I use the vernacular settings in the Lumen Christi Simple Gradual. Nobody has commented on that one way or the other, but no news is good news because there hasn't been opposition to it.