• Hi everybody,

I'm just looking for some advice on beginning to learn the organ. I've wanted to learn since I was a little child, and it's why I originally started taking piano lessons. I dropped those a few years ago in high school and then picked them back up in university and have been moving fast through the levels (RCM between Level 6 and 7 right now).

I've got access to a 102 year old retrofitted organ at my local parish, which is a blessing. It's older, and needs a bunch of fixes, but it'll do. I've self-taught some basics spending many hours playing around on it, which is wonderful. I really think that organ should be encouraged more at a younger age, so you're not stuck in your twenties, like me, looking to begin. But, I digress.

Couple of questions I'd like to throw out there:
    What level do you all recommend being in piano before beginning on the organ?

Do you recommend any resources (books, sheet music, etc) that would be good to get started until I can secure a teacher?

Any general tips? All are appreciated :)

Thanks!
  • Although organ and piano technique and touch are quite distinct it remains that a good piano technique is often an excellent foundation for organ studies. Still, many organists begin their organ studies without piano background. It sounds to me as if you could at your present state of advancement begin organ studies with a respected professor or teacher. You mention university. Does your university have an organ department? If so, this would be a good place to enquire and begin your organ studies. Otherwise, seek out the organist at a nearby church which has a serious music program (probably, but not necessarily, episcopalian). Meanwhile, you might invest in Harold Gleason's organ method and begin practicing the exercises and graded literature.
  • Richard MixRichard Mix