Introduction and a piece
  • Hello all,

I'm newly-registered to this forum but have browsed it quite a lot over the years, particularly this forum on new compositions. I thought I'd introduce and share a piece of mine as well.

I'm a composer and have been working as a musician within the Church for about 18 years. I'm currently director of music at the Church of Saint Peter in North Saint Paul, Minnesota. I just founded a parish schola, focusing on chant and polyphonic repertoires, and the reception so far has been positive.

I'd like to share a choral setting of the "Salve Regina" I composed about 5 years ago (attached — apologies in advance for the watermarked pages). It's a long-ish setting that traverses a number of sentiments and musical textures. The Saint Louis Chamber Chorus premiered the work, but I unfortunately only have a recording from one of the rehearsals, due to a technological failure during the performance.
    https://soundcloud.com/timroycomposer/salve-regina-2015

In any case, I'm happy to have officially joined the forum and look forward to our discussions about music — especially the new stuff!
  • Timroycomposer,

Welcome to the comment side of the forum.

I've just briefly perused your setting of the Salve Regina. It's intriguing. My setting of the text (hereabouts somewhere) aimed at an entirely different result, and is, therefore markedly different from yours. [This is not a criticism. I enjoy both Howells Like as the hart and Palestrina Sicut Cervus]

In measure 46 and again in measure 84 -- and there may be other places -- you have what appears to be a note with a pitch barred with a note which has no pitch. Can you explain the intended result and/or the cause?
  • Hi Chris,