Need conducting help
  • I'm a student at a University I'll not name, but I come seeking advice because our conducting course is extremely underwhelming, and I need to learn much, much more than what I will here. I'm getting good experience directing a choir for one of our Masses on campus, but we do mostly only 4-part hymns and we aren't capable of much more. But of course I want/need to learn how to prepare higher level pieces (motets, chant, etc) for my future career.

Does anyone know of any resources that might be good for helping me to learn how to conduct on my own?

I have also considered reaching out to conductors somewhere in the Chicagoland area (either suburbs or downtown) and ask to study under them in a mentorship sort of situation over the summer. Does anyone know of good conductors or choral programs that I could approach, that would be willing to take on an apprentice?

I am aware that the ACDA has a mentorship program, but I would like to stay in the Catholic sphere, so I will go to that if there's nothing else.

Thank you for your help!
  • WGS
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • You can learn tons by observing rehearsals of effective conductors.

Kevin Allen

Watch the video, it will convince you.

[this was posted late at night, totally failed to state that he is where you are and you should talk with him!]
  • but I would like to stay in the Catholic sphere

Don't. Not if your goal is excellence. Seek excellence, and bring it to the Catholic world.