Holy Week Choral Pieces
  • jniven
    Hi all! I'm a newbie here. I am in my first directorship at a Parish, and they're mostly a boomer hit Parish. Admittedly, I'm new to Sacred Music in the sense that I've never directed it. I've been deep into Praise and Worship for most of my adult life (I lead 2 or 3 Steubenville Conferences each year), but being at this Parish has really started to have me falling in love with Chant, and the Choral music out there.

Sorry for the intro. Our choir isn't used to doing much more than harmonies from the hymnals, and for Ash Wednesday and Holy Week I want to push them into some choral music.

I have found some fairly simple and pretty arrangements (from OCP nonetheless), but again, pardon my ignorance - I'm not exactly sure of placement in the Liturgy.

Here are the few I'm looking to tackle, and hopefully ya'll can help me place them in the best spot.

Attende Domine - distribution of Ashes
    Adoramus Te, Christe - Veneration of the Cross (or should we do it Holy Thursday after the procession to the Chapel?)
    Tristis Est Anima Mea - Holy Thursday/Good Friday?
    Ave Verum Corpus - ?

As they are new to choral pieces, I don't want to overwhelm them - but I feel that between now and Holy Week, 4 pieces should be doable.

Any suggestions for the Easter Vigil?

Thank you all in advance and, again, pardon my ignorance!!
  • An Ave Verum can be done all year at Communion, including at the Easter vigil. The Attende is pretty flexible for Lent as well. If you aren't used to choral music, you'll want them to hear (and you to do) these multiple times. Tristis is part of Matins for Maundy Thursday in the old rite, so Thursday of Holy Week would be the best place. I'd do Adoramus Te at the Veneration, but it too has a certain amount of flexibility.

Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • jniven