OCP and licensing music for Choral use.
  • ArcadeSage
    I apologize in advance for being long-winded. I found this site through some Google searching and need some help/advice for my local parish choir.

I am fairly new to Catholicism, completing RCIA 4 years ago. In that time my spouse and I have joined the choir and enjoy it immensely. Recently we've had a change in choir directors and it has come to light that the previous director might not have had all the permissions necessary for the choir to reproduce SATB settings of hymns used in Mass.

Our parish uses an OCP missal pretty much exclusively. And while it seems they provide a means of licensing to reproduce words and melody for the congregation, that licensing specifically excludes choral parts and choir use. Which also means it would be of little use to the parish as the congregation just uses the missals.

This has caused a lot of angst and division within the choir itself as the members obviously want to rehearse and perform hymn with choral parts but the new director wants to make sure the parish is on the up-and-up when it comes to copyright.

This leads to my question as a concerned choir member: What can I do to help us move forward? Is there some sort of licensing available (OCP or some other publisher) that would allow the choir to get back to singing parts other than melody and not put a financial burden on the parish?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
  • GambaGamba
    You can get free, legal, harmonized graphics for most hymns worth singing here. https://hymnary.org/

Many complete hymnals have been scanned. Just type in the song you need and go from there. Due to OCP’s routine butchering of texts, you may have to write in their altered words in places, but this is a free and legal stopgap measure.

Non-public-domain stuff is sometimes there, but may not be, depending on the vagaries of the various publishers involved.