A question about wages...
  • I know that money is a sensitive topic, but I have a question for you paid church musicians out there.

I am the part-time DM and organist for a relatively small parish in a small Southern town. I play/accompany prelude, postlude, interludes, hymns, propers, and ordinaries. I rehearse the choir weekly in preparation for Mass, and of course conduct them during. I plan all of the instrumental and choral music, which consists largely of chant with some hymns and polyphony. I do this for the principal morning Mass on Sunday, the principal Mass on Holy Days, all Christmas Masses, and all Triduum Masses. I have been a musician all my life, but do not have a degree in anything musical. I make $13,500 annually, is this normal? High? Low?

I ask out of curiosity, and because I genuinely have no idea how much people get paid to do this. I certainly do not ask out of unhappiness, as I love the job very dearly and it is rewarding work. In any case, input ranging from "you're being robbed blind" to "I cannot believe they're paying you that much" is welcome. Thanks in advance.
  • Matilda
    I am also part time, organist only, in New England. I'm between two churches so I play 3 masses per weekend plus one choir rehearsal . I figure I make $400 each week, extra for funerals and weddings. I don't have a degree in music either. I love this and would do it for less but my husband says I am underpaid. I don't really care because I have two beautiful organs to play! Oh ,I also pay for my own organ lessons.