Go make a difference!
  • Isn't that what we're supposed to do as Catholic Christians? We take the love, peace, forgiveness, hope of eternal salvation, etc. out into the world and help others find what we have.

So how can we find fault with a song which exhorts us to do that?

I'm just a guy who sings in a couple of choirs at church. I'm not a trained musician, but I have worked with my voice and can do ok singing in a group and in leading the responsorial psalm. But I have no credentials or no way to back up my musical opinions and preferences.

There are two songs that I've had to sing as a choir member that have made me want to hide under my chair. The first one is "Lord of the Dance" and the second one is "Go Make a Difference," which was a recent "Sending forth" song.

If I had to explain to our director or the pastor or anyone else who wants these songs sung that I don't think they are appropriate for Mass, what can I say to them? I expect they might cite what they see are meaningful lyrics. But the "tunes" themselves are not appropriate, IMHO. How can I convince anyone of that? What can I cite to them?

It took years for me to get to this point, but I finally see the value of chant and much less value on "feel good" music. It seems to me that the latter doesn't really inspire. For the moment while we're tapping our feet to "we can make a difference..." we might feel good about that possibility, but it doesn't lead to any meaningful change.

One thing our music director has said that disturbs me is that if we hear people singing the closing hymn in the parking lot, then we know we did a good job. I've never discussed that with him, but it seems to me he's missing the point.
  • francis
    Lacrimosa

Not sure it will help to voice your opinion to anyone. Your prayers would be more efficacious to a situation like this. We share your grief.
  • Lacrimosa,

(what an interesting moniker!)