CUA Sacred Music degrees: info wanted
  • To anyone here who has graduated from CUA's graduate sacred music programs:

1) Do you recommend the academic program there?
    2) Where did your practical experience take place, on the campus or off (or both)?
    3) Does the university and/or program offer financial aid, graduate awards, etc.?

I've heard great things about the program and it has been recommended in my school search, and I would appreciate hearing your first-hand experiences.

Thank you for your assistance in advance, and Happy Epiphany!
    Thanked by 1TMcD
  • Hello Little Durufle,

I finished my degree at CUA in 2005, so much has changed in the meantime, but:

1. Yes. It was very challenging, but it was well worth the effort. I went in with dreams of 90s-style music bands and came out with a real appreciation and knowledge of the mind of the Church when it comes to music. It was also my first experience with the CMAA, work-studying under Fr. Skeris.

2. Both. All students (at that time, anyway) were required to be working in a parish as well as taking coursework. I also cantored part-time at the shrine.

3. Again, it did in 2003-05. There were a few spots a year in the Justine Ward Scholar program, which was a full scholarship.

Leo Nestor has since retired, and I believe that Dr. Grayson Wagstaff is no longer the head of the music school, either. I don't know much about the current situation, unfortunately, but my experience there was formative.
    Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • CUA terminated the graduate degrees in sacred music (MSM and DSM) in December 2016
    (as per Dr. Timothy McDonnell, Dean)
  • chonakchonak
    There's still material on the web about graduate programs at CUA:
    https://music.catholic.edu/academics/graduate/mm-sacred-music/index.html

There's a notice about not accepting applications for the DMA; but the MM program seems to be open.
    Thanked by 1TMcD
  • TMcD